All the Good Stuff Tinnitus Brought to My Life!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by benryu, Apr 23, 2014.

1. benryu
      Anime

benryu Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2008
      Hi everyone !

When I was younger I was very into music, and I moved to London to start a music career. My band got relatively big on the underground scene and we were giving concerts 3 times a week in average. As a trained musician I was very well aware of the damages sound could do on the ears but one night, I guess I had too much of alcool/drug and forgot to wear protection. Ahaha (#fail)

And I got tinnitus ! I was so depressed and had so many related health problems for 1 year... After a while I accepted my fate and this experience made me so much stronger.

Of course I had to stop music, but it got me to go to the University and I was so determined to be successful. Everytime I had doubts, I was feeling lazy, or I was about to give up, that fucking ring in the ear was here to remind me where I was coming from. Sometimes it even conforted me :)

I ended up going in top Universities, and became a very well known researcher in my field. This strengh help me to be speaker in many conferences accross the world (including a TEDx talk ;) ), and do what I love.

My condition also helped me to get closer to my family and also my girlfriend who is now my wife.

My Tinnitus remained stable but got worse 2 times this year because of noise at some social event... It's ok, it's not going to kill me, it's not changing what I am doing with my life.

The recent research and progess make me very positive and I strongly believe that a cure is going to be available in the next 3 years max.

As I always say, when I will tell my kids that when I was younger there was no cure for tinnitus, they will think I am coming from stone age. ^_^

Tinnitus is just nothing but a TEMPORARY part of your life.