Generic Theory on the Origins of Tinnitus, What Do You Think?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Frederick86, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Frederick86

Frederick86 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2009
      I'm developing a theory of the reasons behind most kinds of tinnitus, basically is like I'm "connecting the dots", and as I'm not a doctor or a scientist, I'd like to share it just as "food for though" in case some of you could find this interesting.

What I'm connecting is the known causes and aggravators of tinnitus (hearing loss, some physical and mental health issues, etc) with the fact that some of us seem to be "picking up" an specific kind of sounds similar to the ones of our computers, hd's, electric devices, etc.

I think maybe there's more than correlation about these two things.

I have some tinnitus tones and I've been trying ACR, trigger point therapy and physical therapy with some success, but now I'm trying to take care of other tone that was minimal (just some "sparkles" at night") and it's been worsening in the last months.

And it seems that the noisy fridge I talked about here is also making this louder, AND muscles seem to be involved too. Some mornings, if I haven't been clenching too much and I wake up when the fridge has been quiet for a while, I don't hear it for some minutes, till I get up and move a bit or till the fridge sounds (the motor runs about 30 min, then stops another 20-30 min, and so on.)

So it seems that I'm picking up sounds from my fridge (or it "irritates" my hearing), and the sounds picked may depend on which parts of my muscles are the most affected by trigger points (they can affect both the middle ear and the inner ear, then creating different pitched sounds.)

I'm starting to figure out the complex relation between these factors.

My theory is that tinnitus in some people could be activated like this: