It's truly maddening

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Ty shattuck, Sep 1, 2013.

1. Ty shattuck

Ty shattuck Member

Tinnitus Since:
      8/2013
      I've had one form of tinnitus or another for years. I've been playing drums for about 7 years and for the first couple of years I didn't use earplugs. Big mistake! Although the ringing was quite prominent it dissipated after a few weeks or months or perhaps I just stopped noticing it. Well recently my band I have purchased etymotic in ear monitors (ear buds) that go deep into the ear canal and within two weeks my ringing has gotten so bad it's as if I just went to a black sabbath concert. It's been the longest 3 days of my life and I just can't find things to distract me.. I wil soon be going to an ENT soon. I doubt they will be able to find much.. I did a standard checkup last evening ans they gave me Xanax for the anxiety and it seemed to have worked for a few hours.. Until it wore off an gave the tinnitus center stage. It seems to be even louder, I hope to god this is just some sort of spike otherwise, That dark path seems very enticing. If anyone can give me a suggestion for suppressants that actually work I'd put you in my will. I'm 18 years of age so that could be quite the investment! No white noise truly masks this and it seems the very medicine I've taken for years (on and off) recently on, has perhaps exacerbated the ringing I.e. diphenhydramine hydrochloride or *Equate nighttime sleep aid. I've read up extensively on all the "detrimental" medicines and or triggers and its absurd how little people know about something so prevalent. It's like a witch hunt. I don't want to lose my life over this and I certainly don't want to lose my livelihood either. Please help me.

2. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Ty shattuck

Ty shattuck Member

Tinnitus Since:
      8/2013
      Oh and to add the in ear monitors took out a mass of ear wax.. Perhaps pushing some further back into my ear canals..

3. James White