17-Year-Old, New to Tinnitus, Advice on Working

Discussion in 'Support' started by Roseanna H, Dec 12, 2016.

1. Roseanna H

Roseanna H Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Janurary 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear phones
      Hey everyone, I've never written on any forum before, and i really hope this gets read, as i'm really needing some support.

So my story in short (or...as short as I can get it). I'm 17 years old, and I got my tinnitus (and hypercausis) early this year, January 2016. The start of the new year went down in such a huge crash for me. Both ear problems were caused by my ear phones, i would play music pretty loud and for quite some long periods of time, and i had been doing this for months. My ears were kinda giving me warning signs, being 'buzzy' after use and then would die away. But in january it stayed. I am currently under a audiologist at the hospital.

I've not been working/in college since it started, i couldn't do it physically (ears) and emotionally :( It's been such a tough year. Things have been very difficult and a lot of things have changed - as you can imagine. At first, i kinda let the tinnitus consume me and take control, i changed so much. But i am determined to not let it stop me, i have my whole life ahead of me still and i have so much to be grateful for. I've been trying to keep myself as busy as possible, trying to distract myself from it. I've been very careful too though, with noise, and am always trying to protect them from further damage. I wear ear plugs a lot. I'm using sound therapy alot too (i always have some sort of white noise on when i sleep, every night - tinnitus is louder in the quiet).