After 15 Years My Tinnitus Has Got Worse — Now I Hear It During the Daytime

Discussion in 'Support' started by NebulaNeko, Jan 23, 2020.

1. NebulaNeko

NebulaNeko Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Burst Eardrum and hearing loss as a result
      Hi,

whilst I’m new to Tinnitus Talk I’ve lived with tinnitus for a long time after stupidly creating a vacuum in my ear in the bath and bursting my eardrum; causing significant hearing loss.

I used to find my tinnitus comforting after getting used to it but now I find myself crying and anxious after I was lying in bed trying to sleep two nights ago and I heard a new pitch and it became louder. A new layer of it. I can now hear it during the day when I used to be able to forget about it and I’m crying all the time.

I have a 3 year old and 18 month old and it’s difficult to sleep as the little one is up throughout the night still and noisy daytimes now do not drown out the sound.

Has anyone experienced anything similar and do I have any hope that this new layer is temporary?? We’ve all had a horrible virus as well and I guess my sinuses are still dealing with the end of it.

Thank you for reading if you got this far x

• Hug Hug x 3
    2. El BUZZ
      Buzzed

El BUZZ Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      First of all: Don't worry.

Second: Welcome to Tinnitus Talk.

To me, the increase in the perception of your tinnitus is mostly due to that virus you mention or the stress/lack of sleep you're going through because of your 18 months old baby.

It's very easy to fall in an overmonitorizing spiral when you hear your tinnitus during daytime. That makes you enter in a stress mode as you are focused on the sound and trying to see if the sounds which used to drown your tinnitus still doing it.

Relax, try to have a good rest, let your body get recovered from that virus and everything will be ok. Be patient.

3. Candy

Candy Member Benefactor Advocate