Another Newbie Here — Stateside

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Lisa Modrall, Jan 18, 2018.

1. Lisa Modrall

Lisa Modrall Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello all. I said "Stateside" because in my "research" it seems Great Britain has it going on and the US, not so much.

first noticed, as in NOTICED, the sound in my head about two months ago, but upon pondering, it was probably about three months ago, I just dismissed the sound for awhile, chalking it up to tiredness or general background static.

Anyway, it's here in full force now. It's 24/7, it's LOUD and yes, I too, have "identified" what I think it most sounds like. It wasn't until literally this week I began to think "I'll bet there's support groups for this!" and I found this site.

I literally know NO ONE in my inner circle that has ever told me they have tinnitus - don't know how that's possible. So thank you for letting me in Admin whomever you are.

I am 59 YO with no major health issues, no recent trauma to my back, neck or head. A history of anxiety and depression but not currently. I take no meds. I did spend probably 15 years listing to very loud music from teens through 20's and, until I just realized (and it's not like I didn't know it was a possibility) that I probably ruined my hearing, still did crank up the volume with earbuds.

I am probably not the kind of person to go to a lot of doctors, first because of $$ and secondly, from what I've read, there is no cure.

My main reason for joining is to learn how to cope and how to not feel alone with this "thing" I now have in my head. I ordered a whitenoise machine this morning and am looking forward to that getting here. I am trying to stay positive about this because, having two sons who were musicians, if this is the price of listening to music all my life, I'll pay it. I'll probably change my tune if/when I go deaf. Maybe.