Beating Tinnitus and Hyperacusis

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by MickBr, Aug 30, 2018.

1. MickBr

MickBr Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      rifle fire
      I largely beat both conditions and thought I would list some of my strategies. This does not suite everyones situation but I recall when I first got them and was surfing for answers a couple of blogs made a difference for me. Guys who put me off the idea of doom, gloom and cure chasing very early in the piece. I can't recall these blogs now but wanted to do a short diatribe which may help others.

Firstly I am a former soldier and international company owner. I got tinnitus 17 years ago in the army, very minor, but it suddenly got worse at the 12 year mark and I had to quit a lucrative international job. Then bang hyperacusis hits me 2 years later. I am able to work and run a business again, and just wanted to share some point which may help others.

Tinnitus steps.

• learnt to sleep with it first of all, firstly with masking noise, then in dead silence. I am a terrible sleeper too, I thought this is the worst possible thing to happen to a guy like me. Within a couple weeks I learnt to sleep(poorly) with it, in couple months I could doze in a chair again , then found myself falling asleep reading and forgetting to turn on my masking noises. Took a few months but I managed it. I actually developed better sleeping habits than I have ever had, I can lie down and shut myself off for the first time in my highstrung life( laughs) My tinnitus noises when I could be bothered hearing it is now are like my comforting sleep noises( crickets/squeals/hisses ) but I doze off to them.