Before I Go Back to the ENT (Experiences with Tinnitus Caused by the Flu, etc)

Discussion in 'Support' started by paulm667, Jun 11, 2016.

1. paulm667

paulm667 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Most likely the flu
      Hi all;

I am new to Tinnitus. It seems that soon after I caught the flu in March of this year, I developed Tinnitus. It got louder over the last few months and seems to have reached it's peak. I went to the ENT. He confirmed that the flu may have caused it. He also indicated I have curved ear drums. Now, I know I have hereditary hearing loss. I accept this. However, the sudden ringing was something unexpected.

The ENT prescribed "Dymista" to spray in my nasal cavity until my next visit. Damn nasty taste when it drips into my throat.

So, before I go back to the ENT for a hearing test and then who knows what, does anyone have experience with Tinnitus caused by the flu? Should it go away? Are there different treatments depending on how a person develops Tinnitus?

Sorry I am rambling. From what I have read on this and other forums, a lot of people with Tinnitus have it a lot worse than I do and for a lot longer.

Thanks in advance for any info

2. The Red Viper
      Curious

The Red Viper Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 15, 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Current Theory: Neck injury (Tendonitis @ trap/SCM junction)