Can Ear Infections Make Tinnitus Worse?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jnric, Jul 23, 2016.

1. Jnric

Jnric Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise and/or ear infections
      Hi everybody, this is my first post, although I've been hanging out in this forum a lot in the last two months.

I first noticed my t about 2 months ago. I'm a music producer, so this scared me inmensly... I'd also assume that the cause of my t was exposure to loud music, playing with rock bands every week for years, and working as a sound guy on occasion.
      Add to this the fact that I also have a mild hearing loss on 6kHz and I was panicking, I though that this will ruin all my future work. But weeks passed and I realised that the quality of my mixes did not declined, so I was really happy and I thought to myself "If I can keep the T at this level I'll be okay, I just need to take very good care of my ears"
      My T disappeared every time I went out on the street, listen to music, played an instrument, were in a restaurant or even was in a room with more then 3 or 4 people talking. The only real enemy was silence, and good for me, I've never liked silence. I usually fall sleep listening to some podcast or with the sound of some youtube video, so the T wasn't a problem even when I try to fall sleep.

BUT... about two weeks ago I woke up with my left ear blocked by wax, so I visit the doctor that very same day, she removed the blockage but midway into it, the sicking machine stopped working, so she tried removing the wax with a tool similar to a hook/spoon. That thing REALLY hurted and she immediately stopped using it. We moved to another room, she used the sucking machine there and the blockage was gone in a matter of seconds. Three days later I developed an external ear infection... sadly, I'm very familiar with these because for some reason I got these regularly (about once a year)