Confused About Masking

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jaybeee, Mar 6, 2017.

1. Jaybeee
      Wishful

Jaybeee Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety?
      Hi guys. I'm new to all this. Only started a couple of weeks ago. I'm confused about masking. Should I avoid sound that is louder than my T? Is masking just playing tv, music, app noises? I am very anxious so anytime I hear my T (seems to vary in loudness daily, today is good so far) my stomach does flip.

Should I try and mask completely at first? Thanks for your help

2. racerfish
      No Mood

racerfish Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise / T worsened with antiobiotics
      Masking your T is anything that you use to lessen its intensity by effectively cancelling out the sound. However, most people suggest then when you mask it it should be below the volume of your T and shouldn't mask it completely.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Hi @Jaybeee,
      Through the day play anything that you like to listen to that can relax you so no deep bass etc and would keep away from headphones and earphones for a while but if you do use them set them on the lowest setting ( for some people earphones and headphones can irritate your tinnitus more )
      At night keep natural sounds set below your tinnitus and play through pillow speakers or a free standing unit ....lots of love glynis

4. LadyDi
      Busy

LadyDi Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Barotrauma/airplane