Definitely Getting Better

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by docwithT, Jun 19, 2016.

1. docwithT

docwithT Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced, Stress
      Hey everyone!

I joined this group a few weeks ago and have been lurking around reading the success stories posted on this group. I have never introduced myself or posted before but felt I should share my experience as it might potentially help a fellow tinnitus sufferer especially a newbie.

I am a medical doctor (just finished training in internal med) from India and I have tinnitus since the 13th of May (had hyperacusis since April but didn't think it was serious then). My tinnitus is most probably due to a combination of chronic sinusitis related eustachian tube dysfunction and noise induced. Extreme anxiety, long work hours and sleep deprivation also might have played a role in precipitating the loud bilateral ringing that started last month.

When I first heard the ringing I thought it might be due to ear wax and ignored it. Over the next couple of days it kept becoming louder and louder to the point that I could not even focus on a conversation and that is when I realized that this may not be the benign tinnitus that disappears in a few days and all hell broke loose. I had a full blown panic attack and kept crying and telling my parents that my career in medicine and my life as I know it is over. The terrible isolation, hopelessness and anxiety of the first 2 weeks was indescribable.

5 weeks in and I am at a much better place. I notice the tinnitus only about 4-5 times a day and it does not cause the emotional distress it used to earlier. The panic attacks have subsided and I am sleeping well again. I have resumed work and will start my sub-speciality training next month. Tinnitus is extremely variable in its presentation and response to treatment but these are the things that helped me.