Depressed & Hopeless

Discussion in 'Support' started by AnonSki, Jul 16, 2016.

1. AnonSki
      Doubtful

AnonSki Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Forever
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi all! I am a 24 year old/female. I have suffered from constant tinnitus as long as I remember. I also am sure I have hearing loss to go along with it although I am too anxious to go to the audiologist to face the music. I graduated with a degree in teaching and I landed a job right after college. I've been told I'm a great teacher for being so young, people love to be around me, and I love to make people laugh. I'm a good actress.

Why hopeless you say? Well I have constant tinnitus in both ears for as long as I can remember. I believe to have some hearing loss but I am too scared to go to an audiologist. They will try to sell me hearing aids, and I have to sit with the fact I am deaf. I've become quite infatuated with the topic.

My dad died of cancer earlier this year, I have a career in which I will no longer be able to hear in 10 years, I have no boyfriend (who will want to date me when I'm deaf), and my future looks pretty grim. I don't listen to music anymore (through iPod), and now I avoid bars and clubs. Just looking for some support or anyone with a similar story... right now my life is at a turning point, and I blame myself for chasing a dream I can't go after being deaf. Also would appreciate any career paths tinnitus/HOH chose so I can look into going back for my Master's.

Thanks for reading.

• Hug Hug x 4
    2. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      Why not go to an ENT doctor and try to figure out what's going on with you? What if your condition was treatable? What if there was something you should be doing now that would try to prevent your hearing from degrading in the future (this is my case btw)?