Employer Wants Me to Go Back Full Time

Discussion in 'Support' started by Eric N, Apr 25, 2019.

1. Eric N

Eric N Member Podcast Patron Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2012, 03/2016, 05/2017, 05/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise + 3 major increases via (shouting / MRI/ flu+Tylenol)
      I have been asked to do full time again as the work load has increased. I told them I don't think I am well enough to do it yet, my tinnitus is the worst as it's ever been, I have already gone on a 3 month disability earlier this year and decided to go back because they offered me part time as an accommodation but now that is off the table.

I am a computer programmer / web developer.

Anyway, I just wanted get some opinions.

I have some options.

- I can just leave and seek new options when I feel better, this might also lead to the new job having an increase in salary but of course runs a risk if it will be hard to find a new job, but I can survive alright for a number of years on my savings if I have to and have no dependents.

- I can stick around and try it out for a month or two, then leave if I don't see this working out, the goal here would be not to burn bridges.

• Agree Agree x 1
    2. emmalee
      No Mood

emmalee Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ?
      This is what I would be inclined to do, @Eric N. Best not to burn the bridge until you have another option on the table.

3. erik
      Cool

erik Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/15/2012 or earlier?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Most likely hearing loss
      As someone who has worked in the I.T. field most of my life and have tinnitus, I completely understand how you must feel. When I first got T, I really was unproductive at work for 6 months. Luckily, I had a boss who understood and was willing to keep me on regardless. I didn't have the means or savings to not work for an extended period of time.