Epileptic Drugs and Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by JasonP, Sep 15, 2016.

1. JasonP
      No Mood

JasonP Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2006
      Interestingly enough, in the treatment section I see quite a few drugs (anticonvulsants) that can be used for epilepsy which may help some (not all) with tinnitus:

Trobalt
      Carbamazepine
      Neurontin
      Pregabalin
      Topamax

Not recommended long term:

Barbiturates
      Benzodiazepines

I have read other accounts here where some other anticonvulsant drugs have helped people with tinnitus. I figured I would share this video to see if we could figure out if we could learn something and maybe come up with an idea or two on how this works. To give you a little background the guy talks about hyperpolarization and depolariazation. It has to do with electrical charges. Here is a graph from Wikipedia:

1221_Action_Potential.jpg

The video is below. I am not a scientist so I cannot verify if all of the following is true but I find it interesting. Do you think this could shed light on how some of these drugs may help with tinnitus?

Epilepsy pharmacology - Soton Brain Hub

By the way, I know tinnitus is very complex, but I wonder if this could shed just a little light on things.

2. linearb
      Psychedelic

linearb Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

beliefs are makyo and reality ignores them
      Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      I think it's pretty interesting. A neurologist I've seen likes to say I have "status tinnitus", a comparison to "status epilepsy" where people have constant seizures.

When epilepsy drugs work for people's tinnitus, it seems like we have to conclude that the drug is somehow slowing down or stopping some kind of hyperactivity. For me, benzos definitely do that, but other seizure drugs I've tried like Trileptal, did not have that effect. But, they clearly work for some people -- there was some amount of research that led me to try Trileptal in the first place.