Finally Decided on a Career in Music... Tinnitus Getting Worse.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Daniel_G, Mar 14, 2016.

1. Daniel_G
      Creative

Daniel_G Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trama
      First time poster. Figured I'd say hello and give a little background.
      I'm a musician. I've played in bands since I was about 15, and I've been going to concerts for just as long. I'm 34 now. I've finally decided to go back to school for music, maybe acquire a job as a sound engineer.

I'm used to a slight ringing in the ears that normally I can usually ignore, and only happen to notice when in complete silence.
      Though, for some reason today, It's just persisted, and I haven't been able to ignore it at all.
      The level is almost at the same as regular conversational dB level. Though the pitch is somewhere above 5k Hz.
      I went to a concert a week ago, but wore ear plugs the entire time. Also, I did do a bit of drinking yesterday.
      I'm uncertain if I'm just dehydrated, and that's causing it to get worse, or if something is going on that's caused it to inflame.

I just recently decided to go back to school for music after 15 years in another career.
      I'm kind of worried that if my Tinnitus gets worse, I won't be able to make the grade.

2. Rintintin
      Frantic

Rintintin Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Sept 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music and head injury
      Sorry about your T. Very frustrating. I am wondering if you are sort of feeling out whether you should really go back to school. I have been thinking of getting into the Library Sciences. That might be a better bet for someone with T. Probably, any environment where it is really quiet.

Magnesium is supposed to protect the ears a bit. Avoid caffeine, sugar, booze. Now I need to follow my own advice, haha.

• Like Like x 2
    3. Ricardo1991
      Tired

Ricardo1991 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016