Fluctuating Tinnitus and the Impact of Certain Foods?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jaybeee, Mar 21, 2017.

1. Jaybeee
      Wishful

Jaybeee Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety?
      Hi folks. Do you have days where you cannot hear your T because it fluctuates. I'm new to this T and am terrified of spikes because of something I might eat. Consequently my diet is pretty limited at the moment whilst I take time to get used to T.

Question - if you experience spikes because of certain foods, would those spikes still occur on a day where T is silent?

Thanks for helping a struggling newbie xx

2. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      @Jaybeee
      I have fluctuating tinnitus but that is the way it has become since 2008. It ranges from complete silence, mild, moderate and severe. No longer does it reach very severe levels of intensity. However, I believe your tinnitus isn't quite the same thing although it might seems so. Tinnitus does fluctuate quite a lot in the early stages of the condtion as you are experiencing. Believe or not that's quite a good thing as it's likely to reduce in time to a very low level or go away completly.
      I have written a post on Food, drink and tinnitus. You can access it by clicking on my Avatar and choosing "started threads". Unless you were sensitive to certain foods and drink before the onset of your tinnitus, I advise you to eat normaly as before and not to ommit anything. All you're likely to accomplish is to be more stressful and miserable. Tinnitus is enough to contend without adding more stress. Please read the post.
      All the best
      Michael

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Jaybeee
      Wishful

Jaybeee Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety?