Graduating High School with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Djimidjiu, Jun 1, 2016.

1. Djimidjiu
      Gloomy

Djimidjiu Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hi everyone,
      Just signed up for the forum. I'm only 17, just graduated from high school, and as my graduation gift I got T and I haven't been to an audiologist yet but I'm pretty sure I have H as well.

I'm a musician. I care about music more than just about anything and my dream is to be a recording artist or work in a studio as a sound engineer/producer, what have you. I always thought I was being very careful with noise. I used headphones very frequently for the past 3 or 4 years but always on the lowest settings. I don't go to loud concerts. I used ear protection when mowing the lawn. In the past year or so though I would notice ringing in my ears after I had been using headphones for a while, nothing too loud. I would stop listening for a while and it would be alright.

Then senior year rolled around, and I had to do a senior project. I recorded an album of original music, all on my own so I was basically in the midst of a lot of noise all day for a month. I think it was playing the drums on it that really did me in. The ringing got louder and louder, and it would flare up suddenly for about 30 seconds when I was around a very loud sound. I tried to be careful and use foam earplugs and take breaks but by the end the ringing was constant. I finished all the recording but I haven't mastered the album yet just to give my ears a break. Oddly enough it's been even worse since I stopped recording.