Have Musicians Given Up Playing?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Bobbie7, Mar 12, 2016.

1. Bobbie7
      Wishful

Bobbie7 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Extreme stress, sinus infection
      I was wondering if the musicians in this support group have stopped playing their instruments and, if not, what do they do to prevent damage to their ears.

While I am not a musician, a while back my husband bought me a blues harmonica and to my surprise and delight I just picked it up quickly and began playing my own spontaneous tunes and I sounded really good. Many months before my T began I became interested in the Native American flute since I felt it was absolutely enchanting and ethereal. I went ahead and purchased 2 flutes and at the time was too occupied with other things to begin playing. Now again I feel drawn to it and would like to begin to practice BUT I am fearful since the music (noise) might cause me discomfort and further exacerbate the T. I feel saddened by this worry because it is something I really wanted to pursue.

If there are musicians here, I would be interested to know how you are dealing with this? Have you stopped playing or are you wearing musician's ear plugs and if so, how has that affected your ability to play? Even with ear plugs if one is very close to a musical instrument, it might still have a strong impact upon one's T.

I would appreciate responses as I am in a quandary about what I should or should not do.

Thank you.

2. michaelbio

michaelbio Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Teenager