Having a Tough Time

Discussion in 'Support' started by mirvish, Aug 4, 2017.

1. mirvish

mirvish Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Infection or noise exposure
      Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forums but have been suffering in silence and wanted to speak to somebody. I've noticed a ringing in my left ear since April of this year (2017). I was coming down with a severe fever when I noticed it, but I am also exposed to loud sound as I am a professional musician and DJ. So the cause is unknown, and part of me hopes it was the fever so that maybe it will go away eventually.

Basically, It's been hard to know which direction to go in, with regards to life, happiness and making a living.

Are there other musicians on here? Have you quit, do you still make music?

I find that it doesn't affect my ability to hear and play notes but that sometimes, it interrupts the musical ideas in my head and they slip out of my grasp before I can make them. Outside of music, I've mostly done labor work which is often very loud as well.

Unsure if I should be continuing in my career, surviving and watching my ears or if I should take a new path so that it doesn't get worse? At the moment I believe I can usually manage in life with brief periods of depression and anxiety.

I also suffer from bipolar disorder so I am trying to be very level-headed and not allow myself to slip into a bad place. My fear is that it could get worse and I will be unable to do anything, let alone music.

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Welcome to Tinnitus Talk,
      Loud music and loud sound can cause tinnitus and a virus in your system also and could be one or both of them.
      Doing what you love is something that helps your mood with bopolar as it can fluctuate and either high or low and hard to find middle ground.