Hearing Loss and Tinnitus — Is There Hope? Can Tinnitus Be Reversible?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Kritish Gooriah, Jan 8, 2018.

1. Kritish Gooriah
      Buzzed

Kritish Gooriah Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ear surgery acoustic trauma tmj ETD
      Hi everybody,

I have a sensorineural hearing loss, I don't know if it's permanent, and I have tinnitus, I would like to know, if this kind of tinnitus is reversible please?

2. GeorgiaRose1812

GeorgiaRose1812 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      September 7th 201&
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Came on with tonsillitis, unknown
      Hiya, I’m no expert but I’m sure @Michael Leigh and @Bill Bauer will be happy to help you out, both were very informative and kind to me when I first popped up

3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      HI @Kritish Gooriah

Some types of sensorineural hearing loss can be reversible. If it was caused by acoustic trauma (loud noise) it may be helped by medical therapy. I note that you have had ear surgery and also have ETD. I feel your question is best answered by your ENT doctor, who will be able to examine you and make a diagnoses and discuss treatment options. If loud noise did contribute to your hearing loss, I advise you to be careful of further exposure to loud noise. Please do not use earplugs or earmuffs to facilitate this as I do not believe they are necessary, and they are likely to make your auditory system more sensitive to sound, which could cause other problems. Of course, if you are in an overly loud environment then use earplugs but make it brief and don't become reliant on them.

As you are new to tinnitus I understand how it can make you feel. Therefore, please click on the links below and read my posts. Start with: New to tinnitus what to do. Try to read them in full and not skim through them.

All the best
      Michael