Hello!! Newbie Here :)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Natalie18, Mar 16, 2017.

1. Natalie18

Natalie18 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      21/12/16
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear Irrigation or Unknown
      Hi! I'm Natalie, 18 years old and from England :)
      I won't go into too much detail because this is only my first post but I got tinnitus a few months ago! Doctor and ENT hopeful it will go away but for now, I'm going to try my best to live with it. I'd love to make friends here and talk to lots of people about their experience as I'm still a newbie and I have to admit that I am a little scared :( I'm doing my exams at school and it really isn't a great time for all of this but I'm trying my hardest to remain positive! I'd love to know about things that help you manage it and i'd be happy to share some things that i've been doing over these past few months too :) nice to meet you all!!

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Lorenzo74
      Mellow

Lorenzo74 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      Hi @Natalie18 and Welcome to TT..

You will find a lot of useful information and nice people to relate too, also around your age group...

Hopefully your ENT is right and it will fade away... In the meantime try not to strees/think too much about it, as concentrating on it will make it stronger... If you have troubles sleeping or studying I would suggest you to use some background noise as masking, so it will be easier to concentrate on something else rather than it...

The first few months are the hardest, but if the sound is not too intrusive you should habituate to it fairly quickly..

In the meantime I would also suggest you to go easy with headphones and loud environment/music, to do lots of sport to keep your mind off it and eat and drink healthy stuff... It can only do you good :)

All the best and take care of yourself and your ears :)

3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996