Help Identify Symptoms (Hearing Distortion, Ear Pain, Jaw Pain, No Ear Pain)

Discussion in 'Support' started by IceWarrior, Apr 24, 2019.

1. IceWarrior

IceWarrior Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gunshot
      Hello, I am just looking for some help in identifying my symptoms as doctors haven’t been much help.

I am a police officer and on the SWAT team so I am exposed to loud sounds often and shoot guns often. I was recently exposed to a blast from a breaching shotgun into a car tire.

All of my symptoms are only in my left ear. I now I have tinnitus which I am pretty much used to and some high frequency hearing loss but nothing that shows on the standard audiogram. Why I don’t understand is the distortion I have in my left ear. When I talk at slightly louder than normal volumes it sort of sounds like a high pitched broken speaker or a vibration. I also get this from other people’s voices and higher pitched sounds. Phone speakers tend to be the worst.

I have also recently started getting some ear pain and mostly jaw pain but I can’t tell if they are coming from sounds or maybe I have TMJD. I noticed my jaw clicking and grinding which I did not notice before.

When I hear sounds I do not notice any pain, even with the distortion.

I guess my main question is, with Hyperacusis symptoms do you notice the pain at the same time as the sound or does it come after the sound? I’m just trying to figure out where my jaw pain and such is coming from.

2. Juan

Juan Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Several causes
      Both, depends on the kind of sound you are exposed to or you are most sensitive to.

3. ToriaM34

ToriaM34 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown - maybe frequent ear infections