Hi I'm New

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by toohp, Oct 24, 2016.

tinnitus forum
    1. toohp

toohp Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      operating loud machinery
      Hello just introducing myself , been suffering Tinnitus from 2014 and was coping ok until several weeks ago my condition got a '' whole'' lot worst . I'm a bobcat machine contractor and have been driving em for 25 years , then 3 weeks ago after a long day at work my conditioned got real bad and has stayed that way since .

I have just finished a 4 month contract and I think Im pretty much done as In I cannot see how I could continue my work now & into the future ??

On a scale it jumped right upto a 9 /10 nearly unbearable !! 2 weeks now it's dropped to say a 7 , coping throughout the day with background noise but at night is the real problem . Im currently trying to mask with white noise at night and tomorrow Im of to get some counciling .Im on medication for Colitis is that part of the problem ??
      Personally I think its from my work . Inside my machine the noise level is at 98 DB I wear & have tried just about every type of ear protection possible Inc aircraft quality and the latest $500 electronic noise cancelling ones which are good .

My plan now is to take a break from work untill 2017 but cannot see how I could go back to my work re the noise ?
      Ive been told from a good source that my condition should drop in level but will take some time ( months )
      I am stressed now as Im 56 yo not sure what my work options would be ?
      There is no way I could continue in this line of work is there ? The chance of it getting worst are too great I cannot see how I can continue or should !

Seen my doctor and have been referred to a ENT doctor but I cannot see what they can do ?

Thoughts ??

2. Robert44

Robert44 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      April 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud concert