Hi, My Name Is Amanda, and I'm New to Tinnitus :(

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Mandar13, Apr 13, 2018.

1. Mandar13

Mandar13 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/8/18
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise or ETD
      Hello all,

Sorry that you all are, and have been, suffering with this horrendous curse that is Tinnitus.

Allow me to preface by saying that I NOTICED a ringing in my ears after a loud noise exposure, but my obsessive research since onset has raised suspicion of other ear issues I might have neglected to notice before my noise exposure...

Please excuse any typing errors as I am typing this all on my phone...so I will try to keep it short and sweet.

Four days ago, I went to a concert without ear protection (stupid, stupid, stupid) because I honestly did not even consider bringing them. I believe I neglected to consider bringing them because this was only the third major concert I've ever attended, and the last two times, I sat in the nosebleeds, so volume was not an issue....not this time! I was right in front!

I had a great time at the concert with one of my best friends, but after it was over, I noticed the dreaded ring....it was a low frequency which I would describe as the tone you hear preceding the emergency Alert System here in the US. I expected to be gone by the next day, but when I woke up the next morning....it remained.

By the second day after the concert, I was in full on freak out mode, going crazy with all of this ringing in my ear. The pitch was becoming higher as well... I noticed a fulness in my right ear, so I made an appointment with the Nurse Practitioner on campus (since I had class that day) to see if she could see any wax build-up....sure enough, there was a lot of wax in my right ear (the one that has the ring..)

I was so relieved! I thought "ah good, it's just a wax build-up. As soon as she flushes it out, the ringing will stop!"

WRONG.

It remained....and seemed louder.

HERE IS THE WEIRD THING!!!!!!