High Vigilance, High Sensitivity, Low Positivity...

Discussion in 'Support' started by jakedude182, Jun 9, 2018.

1. jakedude182
      Jaded

jakedude182 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      door slams
      Hi all,

I have tinnitus in my left ear, since mid last year. But both ears ache quite a lot when something startles me and is unusually loud.

I bought some custom made ear plugs, which, due to easyness, i use them all the time while i'm at work,
      i work as an outdoor activity instructor and there are always doors being slammed, kids screaming, things being crashed around me at random times throughout the day.

I only got the ear plugs at the end of last year, and while living at home didn't need them,
      as my ears had time to recover from sudden door slams (they are one of the biggest spikes i get).

I tried through march to do without these when i started work, and the last time i had a really bad
      incident was towards the end of first aid training with the resusci annes, and we were filling out paperwork
      and another instructor burst the airbag for the annies lungs close to me in the room. He'd taken the
      old airbag out, and tied a knot in the end, and had been playing with it for a bit before popping it.
      I am mad at myself still for overlooking this, and since have become extremely vigilant with whats going on around me, even when i have ear blockers in.

And so since April i've been wearing them all of the time at work.
      The advantage is that i can hear voices with them in and do my job as i would pretty much..
      But now when i take them off, i feel i've become over sensitive to loud noises.
      My room is above a shower block which everybody here uses, and the doors are opened
      and closed constantly through the evening.
      Fortunately when the main door to the block opens i can hear this, and i instantly cover my ears with my fingers for protection.