How Important Is Getting Help/Treatment Soon After Onset?

Discussion in 'Support' started by chris.paget, Apr 9, 2019.

1. chris.paget

chris.paget Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum, so hello!

So I have had some tinnitus mainly in my left ear since around January. I'm not sure what caused it. I'm a musician and was around loud music, but nothing different from before onset, but I also had a middle ear infection in December that I've never had before. I'll go into more details in the "introduce yourself" forum..

My question is: How dependent on positive results is seeking treatment quickly? I ask because I rescheduled an appointment from today for a month away. I had been looking forward to this appointment but also nervous about getting any news about permanent damage. This was part of why I backed out, with some Monday busy-ness in there also and not feeling well today. Part of the thing that made the decision easier is that I wasn't experiencing the tinnitus this morning (it is generally fairly constant, but I usually have a minute or two of relief right when I wake up). So, I was able to justify my decision and continue with my daily home treatment, which includes a calcium-magnesium-zinc supplement, Ring Relief tablets and ear drops, and a B12 losenge.

But in reading at least about prednisone treatments, I was seeing that treatments soon after onset is key. I hadn't heard about that as a treatment option. So now I'm worried that I shouldn't have canceled today, but I'm also not sure if I'm overgeneralizing from that.

Glad to be here, and I already appreciate the fact that this forum exists! Thanks in advance for your help!

PS. It might be important to note that this was not necessarily sudden onset and there is no hearing loss that I can tell (the ENT appointment will include a hearing test though).

2. Contrast
      No Mood

Contrast Member Benefactor Hall of Fame