I Am New. My Tinnitus Is Severe. Please Help.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by VinnyBoy, Feb 17, 2017.

1. VinnyBoy

VinnyBoy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Not sure. Inner ear infections maybe.
      I have been living with tinnitus for 30 years now. It has gradually gotten worse. It is a high-pitched type. I am an electronics engineer and I have measured this several times. My whine is at about 15.4 KHz (like an old CRT monitor going bad) and is at a perceived level of about 68 dB at each eardrum. I have seen audiologists. I have been fitted for hearing aids recently.

The bloody things make my tinnitus 10 times worse. I joined your forum tonight because I was googling about tinnitus and hearing aids making it worse. I found your forum and saw several people who had comments that indicated they are having similar issues.

I need some kind of support with this problem. My family is sympathetic, but no one can truly understand just how severe a problem tinnitus can be. I am also a college professor, and this obviously impacts my daily interaction with students and colleagues.

I am losing hope. The hearing aids I have are from Beltone, but they did not program the pink noise underlay yet. They told me that I needed to get used to the amplification first. But I can only tolerate the things for 10-15 minutes. In that time the tinnitus gets much worse to the point that I cannot hear anything at all except the whining. Like having your ears slapped hard and then immediately shoving earplugs into your ears!

It gives me a headache and I feel exhausted. I do have an appointment tomorrow with Beltone to see what can be done to customize the programming some more, but I do not have a lot of hope.