I Started on Prednisone 3 Days After Acoustic Shock — Advice on Duration + Taper?

Discussion in 'Support' started by FFR, Dec 28, 2020.

1. FFR

FFR Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      amplifier frequency sweep
      Hello everyone,

About a week ago I sustained an acoustic shock from a faulty tone generator when I was building an amplifier, got spiked with approx 110 dB of 20 kHz noise for about a minute (I didn't hear it, but felt the pain). I have had hyperacusis and tinnitus since, improving initially quickly, but leveling off (80% after Prednisone, then about 10% per day since, sometimes no progress).

Luckily I work as a clinical researcher, and was able to get hold of some Prednisone + Gabapentin from the stores, completely illegal I know, but after a call to a few people I work with who are doctors they said it would be highly unlikely they would prescribe any steroid at A&E, and I would just be left on my own.

I'm currently on 100 mg of Prednisone per day, divided into two 50 mg doses, one in the morning and one in the evening.

Usual side effects but minor. Just before anyone jumps in and says "that's too high a dose!!"... It's not... Trust me. I've seen this used in cancer patients up to 1000 mg a day, not pretty but it's bearable and would stand a higher chance of protecting the hair cells from inflammation due to Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS) etc. The Gabapentin acts as a calcium channel blocker, as I've also read that during acoustic damage calcium will happily flood the hair cells and cause hair cell death.