I Think I May Have Tinnitus...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JamesWalker95, Dec 21, 2017.

1. JamesWalker95

JamesWalker95 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi guys, nice to meet you all.

I'm posting this because since Sunday night (3 days ago) I've had an extremely high pitched frequency type noise in my right ear, and I'm worried that I may have tinnitus. On Saturday I was out at a club (which I rarely ever go to) and I'm starting to think that may have caused the problem, although I'm pretty sure I didn't notice the ringing at all on Sunday until when I was trying to go to sleep. I'm a 22 year old musician, and I understand that this is very much a occupational hazard, but I wear in ear monitoring systems whenever I rehearse with bands, or perform live, so doubt that this could be the case.

I went to my GP yesterday and he told me that I have excessive wax build up in my right ear, told me to go buy some ear drops, and to return on the 2nd of January to have my ear syringed and the wax (hopefully) removed. As well as the ringing I tend to have random bursts of pain in my ear, as well as neck pain also on the right side. I'm really hoping this isn't permanent as it's already effected me a great deal emotionally, and is making me stay up at night crying. Music is my passion, and currently I can't even listen to my favourite records without hearing this consistent drone in my head. I understand that worrying about it will only make it worse, and I'm trying to avoid that - it's just extremely difficult.

I'd just like to hear anyones opinions, whether you think it's going to stick around, or if it's because of my wax build-up/neck pain. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much.

2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma