I Want to Go to a Concert — Should I? Seeking Advice on Risks for Tinnitus / Hearing Damage

Discussion in 'Support' started by marge, Mar 9, 2019.

?

Should I Go to the Concert?

1. Go! Live your life!

2. It's not worth the risk

Results are only viewable after voting.
    1. marge

marge Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      headphones
      Hi guys,
      Have had Tinnitus for about 3 years so I would say I'm a seasoned pro now. Usually it is not that bad for me, and I have been going out out to clubs with no problems but always wearing earplugs for the first two years, then about 6 months ago I got a really bad random spike that I can't attribute to anything which has only recently gone down. In that time I didn't go near anything loud at all out of fear. Last week I tried it for the first time in so long and went briefly to a club for my cousins birthday. The first 5 days my tinnitus was actually the quietest it's ever been and now my left hear has spiked hugely. The first doctor I went to see when I originally got tinnitus told me it was absolutely fine to go out and even listen to headphones even though I never did any of that. I also don't have any hearing loss.

Finally! My question is, I really really want to go see my favourite band who are touring in March. I absolutely love this band and I am so tempted to go see them as they really are close to my heart. I have no interest in seeing any other band apart from this one, but am also so worried about my ears. I'm really trying to not view tinnitus as a scary thing as I really believe this helps overall. I also really don't want it to ruin/get in the way of my life as it's already made me avoid social occasions and I'm only 20.