Ignore It or Accept It?

Discussion in 'Support' started by baz 22, Jan 27, 2016.

1. baz 22
      Alone

baz 22 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016
      I am quite new to tinnitus and would like to have advice from some of the longer term tinnitus listeners.

In your opinion do you think it is better to ignore tinnitus and pretend it's not there. Do everything in your power to pretend you can't hear it.
      OR
      Is it better to accept your tinnitus and listen to it but don't react to it. Accept that the sound will be there but don't let the anxiety and depression take over.

All opinions :welcomesignanimation:

• Like Like x 1
    2. Richard zurowski

Richard zurowski Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      27/12/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection.
      @baz 22 . Hi that depends how loud your tinnitus is. I've always said that if tinnitus is extremely loud you will never habituate to it but low tinnitus you can see why people can habituate and forget it's there.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      baz 22
      Alone

baz 22 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016
      I would say my tinnitus is mild to moderate, it fluctuates throughout the day a good bit. Louder when I am stressed or anxious. But I find it difficult to ignore, unless I got some good tv or movie to watch.

• Like Like x 1
    4. Richard zurowski

Richard zurowski Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      27/12/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection.
      Mild to moderate in time you will learn to ignore it but it does take time. Keeping yourself busy helps.

5. linearb
      Psychedelic

linearb Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

beliefs are makyo and reality ignores them
      Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      It's not really possible to willfully ignore something; I would say that acceptance is key to being able to tolerate something, and tolerating it without distress feedback loops is key to being able to "ignore" it.

• Like Like x 3