I'm Tom — I Have Had Tinnitus for 6+ Years from Acoustic Trauma

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by TomK, Apr 11, 2019.

1. TomK
      Thinking

TomK Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud machines, music, partying in front of band PA systems.
      My name is Tom and I've had tinnitus for 6+ years and it's from Acoustic Trauma. For 30+ years, I was the guy you'd see in front of the bands at the bar, watching, or dancing very close to the PA systems. Ya know the stacks of amps. I would play music loud in the car, and eventually I got me some ear buds to jam out with, which was the final real episode of rocking out with very loud tunes. I also worked as a CNC Machinist, which I did without hearing protection while the machine cut steel at high RPMs as well as being very very noisy. I thought I was invincible.

My days of silence came to a screeching halt when I got those ear bud speakers. Tinnitus invaded my brain in the Audio Cortex. The cilia hairs died in my ears as well.
      I've had many days of sirens going off in my head, and many nights of being awakened by my tinnitus. I wear hearing aids in both ears which help lose the constant screeching I hear daily by amplifying the sounds around me. No, I don't wear them in bed.

I have cut down salt intake, sugar intake, avoiding noisy places and people. I listen to music very low, and watch TV with no sound, using the close captioning because the TV sounds make my tinnitus spike. My refrigerator drives me to put on my sound proof head phones, as well as the TV at times. My social life is dead.

I've tried many so called cures for tinnitus, which all turned out to be BS for me.

Turmeric powder pills, I must say did NOT work for me, they spiked my tinnitus to suicidal levels!!