In a Dark Place, Trying Not to Lose Hope

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by missingsilence, May 3, 2017.

1. missingsilence
      Depressed

missingsilence Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who am I kidding, its got to be noise :/
      Hello, I am new to TinnitusTalk, I have spent the last two months or so reading posts and decided to create an account as I feel I am running out of options. I am a student, barely in my 20s and I already have tinnitus.

My tinnitus started roughly one year and a half ago, I noticed it in the morning after being at a welcome dance party for a short period of time. At that time it scared me, because I had always avoided parties and loud places in general. It was a quiet sound in my left ear, high pitch, and I only heard it at night or when the room was silent. Nevertheless, I soon got used to it and was living a happy life.

Fast forward, and a little less than two months ago I was dragged by a friend into what I thought was a small celebration. We were in a rather small living room for 3 hours or so and they had a TV blasting music, which at one point they turned up to 100% volume and started singing. The next morning I noticed my tinnitus was quite a bit louder in my left ear. I felt nausea and generally felt sick. I had an important trip scheduled in a few days, so I went to my GP and was given nose spray to clear my sinuses a bit (my nose was a bit stuffy).