Is It Bad for Those with Tinnitus to Sleep with Foam Earplugs?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Luman, Aug 28, 2017.

1. Luman
      Benevolent

Luman Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Intermittent Tinnitus probably noise induced
      I'm a newbie, have tinnitus under 2 months. I'm able to sleep OK with foam earplugs pushed part of the way in my ear canal.

Are there any risks in dong this, as far as tinnitus goes?

I'm also wondering if it will have a negative, positive or neutral effect on my efforts to habituate. I keep a sound machine with the volume set to low/medium, near to the bed. Thank you.

2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      I got into a habit of sleeping with earplugs long before the onset of my T. Minor noises used to wake me up, and earplugs ensure this doesn't happen. For me, one of the problems caused by T was my inability to sleep with earplugs (because T would be too loud). My T got less loud compared to that first month, and also I had habituated, and these days on some nights I am able to sleep with earplugs again.

At one point I attempted to speed up my habituation by wearing earplugs 24/7. This way I thought would not be shocked by loud T when I would try to sleep. It didn't work out as a doctor noticed some irritation on my eardrum, which could have been there as a result of an infection due to the 24/7 earplug increasing the humidity inside of the ear.

In any case, I believe that, if anything, earplugs ought to help you to habituate to your T. Based on my experiences, wearing earplugs when you sleep shouldn't have a negative impact on your T.

3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hi @Luman