Is This Hyperacusis? Help, I'm New in Dallas

Discussion in 'Support' started by TeresaD, May 7, 2016.

1. TeresaD
      Fine

TeresaD Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello all! Wanted to introduce myself and see if anyone can give me any pointers on this strange affliction.
      I'm 51 and I had this once before about a year ago. I believe it stemmed from either a. A fall I had that hurt my neck or b. A bad yoga move that hurt my neck. I went to ENT and neurologist and all tests were normal. My chiro always said my neck is 'a mess' and I started going to physical therapy. The therapist told me the same thing, that my neck was very tense and the muscles around the neck and upper back were almost in a spasm. She worked on these areas and about 2 months later my symptoms slowly faded (except my tinnitus which I've had for many years and is moderate). Fast forward to this year. About a month ago, like an idiot, I decided to try Pilates. Nothing out of the ordinary, just some simple exercises. Within 2 days, my symptoms returned! I couldn't believe it! That feeling of water in the ear, pressure/fullness, some sounds making my ear flutter or vibrate (with pain) like I have a bad head cold, that almost electrical-feeling hum (my worst symptom I think). Certain sounds really hurt, like a plane flying overhead, or a fan, the AC coming on, toilet flushing, faucet running, my dogs barking, trucks idling. On top of that, my tinnitus is very loud and high pitched, like a jet engine! I've had T for many years but it's always been mild.