Klonopin Withdrawal

Discussion in 'Support' started by kevin b, Jan 19, 2015.

tinnitus forum
    1. kevin b
      Fine

kevin b Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2014
      I know this subject has been touched on but I am looking for specific help. I have been on .05 Klonopin three times a day for about 6 months. I felt my anxiety was under control and wanted to taper off as I felt I would long term be able to handle anxiety with therapy, I am also on an AD. My pscy doctor is very pro Klonopin. The first two weeks I cut my nightime.05 does in half and everything seemed fine. I then cut my morning dose by 1/4. I only had pulsating T but now I have developed a hissing sound in my left ear that I did not have before. my anxiety is now back. Did I taper too fast? Should I up my dosage alittle bit and then taper even more slowly?

• Agree Agree x 1
    2. Nic B

Nic B Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Heavy Metal \m/
      I'm not a doctor, but if it is still manageable, perhaps wait a few weeks before upping your medication again? What has been effective for me in dealing with this, is when I get a spike and start to feel overwhelmed, I look at my calendar and say ''if this is this bad in 3 weeks, then I will allow myself to freak out''. So far, I forgot about it every single time.

None of this is a precise science, but are you SURE that your tinnitus has changed, or are you simply more obsessed by it because you are dealing with the consequences and anxiety of tapering off the benzos?

• Like Like x 1
    3. kevin b
      Fine

kevin b Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2014
      I got hissing T in my left side of my head that I never had before. I was thinking of upping the dose alittle and then tapering down more slowly. I am at half the dosage that i started on.

• Informative Informative x 1
    4. David J
      Confused

David J Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2011
      Just remember: