Low-Level Bass Too Loud in One Ear?

Discussion in 'Support' started by spiritofeden, Sep 9, 2016.

1. spiritofeden

spiritofeden Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      don't know
      So in Feb of this year I woke up to my hearing titling towards my right ear, Bass sounded louder in that ear , then after 2 weeks it changed and it's been the same in my left ear since.

Even walking on left side shoe feels heavier. I was at ENT and had an audiogram but they said it looked fine. So it's all a bit depressing for me. I'm a musician so listening to headphones is very annoying. All the low end moves to my left ear.

I have no problems hearing things just it seems my left hear is much louder mainly in the bass regions.

Any thought? Help?

2. Vaba
      Shitfaced

Vaba Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Unknown
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown. Gradual, Progressive
      Read about this, RIGHT now. It might help you a lot.

SSCD (Superior Semicircular Canal Dehiscence) is a condition where the bone over the Semicircular Canal (which is a part of the cochlea) detaches/is worn away. It can happen suddenly or gradually at any point in life, but is more common in people who are in their 40s. You seem to have some of the most common symptoms.

Don't expect ENTs to know anything about how the ear actually works. How old are you, by the way?

http://vestibular.org/superior-canal-dehiscence-scd

3. mintblue
      Supportive

mintblue Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2012
      Whoa I had the same symptoms earlier on with my tinnitus/hyperacusis. I've learned to adapt and barely notice it at this point but one ear definitely hears bass way louder than the other.

4. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      A CT Scan can generally reveal this.

• Agree Agree x 1
    5. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      spiritofeden

spiritofeden Member

Tinnitus Since: