MIG Broke Sound Barrier While I Wasn't Wearing Hearing Protection

Discussion in 'Support' started by iAzra, Sep 20, 2019.

1. iAzra
      Curious

iAzra Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma, Stress, Nose hit
      Military plane had exercise above my city during which they broke a sound barrier and that resulted in a sonic boom that hit the ground.

I felt the "explosion" in ears/head and feel my eardrums vibrated hard in both ears. I haven't had that sensation since forever since I have been wearing ear protection outside the house since 2012. But today I didn't have it.

Now my ears hurt, "burn" and I feel pressure and not hear clerly as I hear otherwise. I am profoundly scared that this will worsen my hyperacusis and/or tinnitus.

How to deal with this? Anyone had the experience? Please help.

• Hug Hug x 5
    2. JohnAdams
      Festive

JohnAdams Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      May 1st 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Aspirin Toxicity/Possibly Noise
      That's terrible. Go to the doctor and try and get some steroids.

Good luck to you.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      iAzra
      Curious

iAzra Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      You think I need steroids? :(

I'd like to skip them due to some other things going on atm.

In past, I took them even for less but now I am aware of their effects on other things..

4. JohnAdams
      Festive

Tinnitus Since:
      May 1st 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      That's the standard of care for noise injuries. You have just a little time, the haircells in your cochlea may just be clinging on to dear life right now and steroids can stop them from fully dying. The sooner you try them out the better.

Call an ENT now and ask if you can get a steroid injection into your eardrum, that way you won't have the other side effects of the steroids you'd have taking them orally.

• Agree Agree x 2