Musician with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Bob Mocarsky, May 16, 2018.

1. Bob Mocarsky

Bob Mocarsky Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Musician, always around amplified instruments and drums
      I first noticed symptoms of tinnitus in 1985 after a sharp piercing cymbal crash on the bandstand. Days later I noticed pitch discrepancies from right ear to left, disorientation feelings and very uncomfortable sound. Music seemed out of tune, the 'flavor' was damaged. The physical damage appears to have been in my left ear.

Since then these symptoms along with ringing and noise have come and gone, and I believe the problem would subside if I lived a 'normal' life -- without such constant extremes of volume - except that I am a lifetime pro musician, music IS my profession and my life.

I am continually subjected to amplified sounds, monitors, and insensitivity from other musicians who seem to believe volume is indispensable to their expression. Sometimes earplugs of various types are helpful, and other times the remedy seems worse than the problem.

Noise is the culprit, and it is as much about discordant sound that my brain wants to reject as it is about sheer volume levels. I am getting more selective about which gigs I might not want to be around.

We live in a world where most people don't realize that excessive sound levels have seriously damaging effects, and most people are not sympathetic, say, as if they could see your leg is broken, so most times I keep my problems to myself.

I'm getting older, my tinnitus is getting worse rather than better, and I have no option than to be around loud situations. One day at a time.

• Like Like x 2
      • Winner Winner x 2
      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure