Musician with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Katlego1, Aug 4, 2018.

1. Katlego1

Katlego1 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hey guys.

I'm a musician with noise induced tinnitus and I've also found out I have hearing loss at just 22.

It's been stressing me out since music has always been my life and I have no plan b.

Just wanted to find out if tinnitus from hearing loss goes away?

Thanks.

2. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      HI @Katlego1

Tinnitus from hearing loss improves in many cases with the help of a hearing aid/s. However, it all depends how much of a hearing loss you have? More importantly I believe is the fact that you are a musician. If you listen to music through headphones even at low volume your tinnitus is most likely to get significantly worse. I am serious about this and please do not be misled by doctors or other health professionals that might tell you. As long as the volume is kept low listening to audio through headphones will be okay. It won't believe me! These medical professionals are good at what they do and know about the anatomy of the ear and can treat it medically or surgically. However, when it comes to tinnitus the majority of them know very little about this condition as they have never experienced it. Most of the information gained is from their tinnitus patients. A lot of these patients have mild or moderate tinnitus which will often improve within a short period of time. Many of them haven't the need to visit a tinnitus forum for help.