My First Post

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Ian cliffe, Jan 11, 2017.

1. Ian cliffe
      Balanced

Ian cliffe Member

Tinnitus Since:
      december 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hi everyone, This is my first time on tinnitus talk, and will tell you a little bit about my tinnitus and whats been happening.

I started with tinnitus in december 2015 (xmas eve ) just woke up with it in the morning without any warning. I had high pitched whistling in my right ear and was very distressed all xmas, i went to the doctors 4 times over the xmas period in desperation which was a waist of time, but they did refer me to the ent.

I saw several consultants over 2016 and was told by two of them there was nothing we can do for you and to keep calm, easy for them to say.

It did settle down a bit as i started to get used to the constant buzzing. But i was starting to suffer from depression, and by may 2016 was getting other sounds, i started with a constant low hum in my left ear which i still have, i also get pulsate tinnitus which started in october 2016. I am up and down some days its not to bad then other days my head is ringing so loud.

I started seeing a private couselor in october which did help alot but there is only so much he can do. I have felt better recently but for some reason my tinnitus is bad again.

I see a doctor at the e.n.t. next week hopefully he will give me a in ear noise masker, fingers crossed.

2. MikeL1972

MikeL1972 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      3/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Uknown
      Hi Ian,

Welcome aboard!

Interesting how your tinnitus started for no reason as you said. Were you exposed to noise pollution, taking medication, stressed, or experienced a traumatic event?

It's a good idea to go to the ENT. Make sure he checks your hearing as well so you know where you stand.

Nevertheless, this site is an invaluable resource for all things tinnitus. Take some time to check it out! Good luck!

3. AUTHOR