My Story — Some Positivity for You

Discussion in 'Support' started by Shem, Dec 1, 2017.

1. Shem

Shem Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Single Sided Sudden Hearing Loss
      Just a small note to pass on some positivity - I'm fairly new to tinnitus as well, I've had it for 2 months now following sudden unexplained severe hearing loss in one ear. Basically woke up one morning with a very loud ringing and no hearing in one ear. Like most of you, I was very distraught at first, needed meds and masking to sleep. The ringing was VERY loud, never stopped. I was using masking all the time, just to function at work. I was seeing an ENT, trying to regain hearing with some success, but still do not have functional hearing in the one ear. I was told "you will get used to it", and I would think to myself that there is absolutely no way I could ever get used to this blaring ringing in my ear and that these people just don't understand the severity.

So - after a few months, things are MUCH better. Sorry to say, the tinnitus is the same, but it does not bother me nearly as much. I don't think about it much at all - still bothersome when I go from a place with background noise to a silent setting, but it's no longer the anxiety panic-inducing reaction that I had at the beginning. It can be annoying, but that's about it. I now sleep soundly at night with no masking or drugs, despite the ringing. Keep in mind, when this first began, I could not even imagine being able to function with the Tinnitus.

So what changed? It's a good question that I've been thinking about.

1. Realizing it can't hurt you. Physically, tinnitus cannot hurt you. You need to drill that into your head. The "harm" is all coming from within, and completely under your control.