Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JLCbamf, Apr 23, 2018.

1. JLCbamf

JLCbamf Member

Tinnitus Since:
      October/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      tooth extraction?
      I remember a few years ago I started getting -hard of hearing- years of music cranked up in the car I guess. Last Summer I had upper jaw pain, and thought it was trigeminal neuralgia, and could get the pain to quit with a few firmly pressed fingers on my head. In September I went to the dentist for a cavity; he said the tooth had to come out, and how about that other tooth above it? Looked bad too- so I arranged for an oral surgeon to take them both out. I wanted to be under anesthesia because it was all very sad to be losing two teeth for me-I thought I'd researched everything I could about what could go wrong.

Apparently when you're under anesthesia they crank your mouth open wide, and yank back and forth a lot on your jaw bones, and wrench your neck pretty badly. I've been a massage therapist for 27 years, and never had any neck issues before, and boy oh boy did I have one after those extractions. Clicking, soreness, stiffness, pain- I thought okay, I can deal with this. My jaw didn't feel the same though, my bite was off. Then I got the courage to look in my mouth, and saw white plaques-thrush- from the antibiotic they required I use for 10 days. Swished with diluted clove oil for that, worked ok.

An interesting thing happened the day after the surgery- I had to turn the volume DOWN on the media- it was so loud now! I could hear really well again! Pretty cool I thought!