New to Tinnitus and It's Getting Worse

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by CaRd, Jun 7, 2017.

1. CaRd
      Cheerful

CaRd Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety/Stress/Lack of sleep/Headphones
      Hello there!

I am still new to this tinnitus thing and i have a few questions. Hope someone can answer them ...

I got mine three months ago just for my birthday(Horaay!). It was like a mechanical HDD lurking in my right ear. Went straight to the ENT the next morning and after my hearing test came fine, she prescribed me Betaserc + Tebokan(Ginko extract). After a few days without improvement(and sleep) i went again. She then hospitalised me for infusions with Corticosteroids and Vasodilators. The noise became very quiet for a few days but it changed it's tensity and became much more frustrating and a new sound kicked in - like a high-frequency dentist drill. After that i went to Otoneurologist and he prescribed me Pregabalin - a drug for epilepsy. While i was taking it in higher dosage it was all fine and i was able to sleep well for about a month. I even went to ultra-high frequency therapy. All was well. I was even prepairing myself for the sound to get louder and how to habituate.

That was until 2-3 weeks ago when i went out with friends. I haven't been socializing from a long time(even before tinnitus) and wanted to vent some steam. The problem was one of the places which had loud music. I was covering my ear the whole time even that i knew it won't help much. So i was expecting it to go louder after that. It did not. Instead a new Hshhhhh sound started coming from my both ears. But it changes. Sometimes i don't hear it from my left ear, but there is a screaming sound in my head. And it changes constantly during the days. Also a new criccet sound in my right ear ... Now i am not sure why this happened, because at this time i decreased the Pregabalin to twice the dosage.