Newbie to Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by skn, Sep 14, 2015.

1. skn

skn Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/06/2015
      New to T, about 6 weeks in. Actually it was frightening when it started, very loud. Now It's not a loud ring more of a hiss. And I now have days when it's very quiet. So I'm hoping this trend continues and I've had more good days than bad. I would say I have about 3-4 days a week where it is low, then the other days the volume is turned up! Not sure if anyone else experienced this during the early stages of T? My ENT told me it's hearing loss, but I believe it came from a bad sinus infection along with 2 weeks of antibiotics. I've had minor hearing loss, they didn't tell me anything new.

2. Forever hopeful
      Disappointed

Forever hopeful Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2015 resolved, 4/20 L ear, increase 2/21
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      2015,noise,2020-21 SNHL
      Hi Skn,

Welcome to the forum. I am also new to T. I am 3 weeks in. Mine came from acoustic trauma following a very loud concert but fotunately, no hearing loss. Did your ENT test your hearing for sure? From what I have learned, either hearing loss , sinus infection or even the antibiotic you were on could possibly be to blame. What I have read and was told by my ENT, is that hearing loss is the major culprit in the majority of tinnitus cases. My dad has hearing loss and has been exposed to loud noise occupationally for many, many years and does not have T. I had one exposure and no hearing loss and I have T. Go figure.