Re-Entering the Workforce

Discussion in 'Support' started by cviechec, Jan 15, 2018.

1. cviechec
      Scared

cviechec Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      otc painkillers
      I've had pretty awful tinnitus for about 7 months now, and a lot of that time period was over the summer // the last semester of college. Predictably so, the tinnitus affected my concentration in class and lowered my grades. I had a 4.0 GPA before tinnitus and after I was getting quite a lot of B's in classes (not the end of the world, but the difference still upsets me). On top of the tinnitus, about 3-4 months ago I developed dozens of floaters in both eyes, as well as a worsening of my pre-existing visual snow.

Now that my backstory is out there, I just want to know how people manage re-entering the workforce with such a distracting and debilitating condition? I started training on my new position today and was getting mad at myself for my inability to fully concentrate on the presentation, much like in lecture at college.

Sadly, i'm pretty sure the only advice people will be able to give is to take it a day at a time, which is what I'm going to do, but it really fucking sucks. I can't just put off entering the workforce forever, I have bills to pay and people to take care of.

• Good Question Good Question x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
    2. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      I can relate to your situation, @cviechec . Before my tinnitus got worse (it was mild before taking a blood pressure drug), I was working full-time, and often worked overtime. Afterward, I went through a period where I took a leave of absence due to the loud tinnitus, anxiety, and adrenal fatigue that it caused.