Replace Broken Crown or Extraction?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jamie51367, Jul 19, 2016.

1. Jamie51367

Jamie51367 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dental work or med withdrawal
      Just found out today that a molar crown is cracked. To replace this, will require 20 minutes of drilling. Would prefer extraction to avoid making my tinnitus worse. I asked if he could do 5 seconds on and 10 seconds off, and he said yes. Do the math on that, for 20 minutes...I am just learning after years to cope with it. I am disabled too in my spine. If it makes it worse, I could lose my job, be bed-ridden, suicidal, etc. I think an extraction on a good tooth is crazy to most, but they don't get it. The dentist even said he had a new drill that did not make that high pitched sound, but it is the internal bone conduction. Oh, this was all from eating an almond. Thanks!

2. Owen
      Disappointed

Owen Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unclear. Inflammatory allergic reaction/AIED
      Do you have severe reactive tinnitus? Dentist drills are not normally loud enough to result in actually hearing damage. Extractions are not without risk, so if the tooth under the crown is good, I would be tempted to keep the tooth and have the crown replaced.

3. Natalie Roberts
      Haunting

Natalie Roberts Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Pregnancy or mild hearing loss.. Who knows.
      I had to have a crown removed because it was cracked and they put a new one on. It was in a back molar on the side that my tinnitus is normally on. I was pretty nervous and had a spike for a few days but everything settled.

4. seal

seal Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2007
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustic trauma
      If you have the tooth pulled you'll need a replacement for that tooth. A gap will make your teeth shift and ruin your bite on the long run.