So Will I Recover?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JurgenG, Jan 9, 2017.

1. JurgenG
      Approved

JurgenG Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise exposure / headphone accident maybe?
      Hello everyone,

I am a 29 year old male, and I've what seems something like T. (I have trouble accepting it..)

My short story:
      I am a camera operator and I had those big pilot headphones, I plugged them in and heard this electrical really loud buzz.
      I threw them off my head, in a matter of seconds.

A couple of days before this happend I went for an OHC (to checking the hairs), just as a precaution while I ordered some earplugs.
      So I was ofcourse already afraid of any T or hearingloss, I didn't notice anything that day, then the next morning I woke up I noticed the ringling and tinteling in my ears, It's been almost 3 weeks now, and I'm having a hard time focussing, and every night I am up for 7 hours. Shaking and being afraid. I keep reading these T-stories that make me even more scared.

I have a hard time accepting and I keep praying if it might be a fragment of my imagination, since I am always quite scared that I have some issue.
      I do hear it, and it's not as subtle as I would want when trying to sleep, but I wonder if I always had some form of it, but never paid attention to it, but that's just wishfull thinking.

And the part I really can't get over, is that it was totally avoidable, I know I shouldn't put these headphones on when plugging them in. But I'm an OCD'er and it might have been compulsive, this is whats making my completly insane. Knowing that I could avoided anything..

So when I noticed it, I went to a GP a couple days later, he said your eardrums seem fine, might have had a small rip, not sure. But visit an ENT if you are not over it in a couple of weeks. And stay out of loud noises as much as possible.