Spike or New Level?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Brandon Wilson, Jan 26, 2016.

1. Brandon Wilson
      Alienated

Brandon Wilson Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Visual Snow
      Hey all, this is my first time posting. In the last two weeks my tinnitus has gone from barely bothering me to making me feel very depressed. It's probably gone from a 3 to a 7 on a scale of 10. i had stupidly been listening to music with my headphones every night for about a month and about two weeks ago my tinnitus got louder. Im not sure if it will go back down to the normal level they were at before. Does anyone think ive caused more damage and louder tinnitus permanetly?

• Informative Informative x 1
    2. Zorro!
      Wtf

Zorro! Member

It's impossible to say if you caused more damage by using headphones. And it's impossible to say where the tinnitus will level off. Try not to beat yourself up over it though. Just use this tinnitus "scare" to clean up your auditory habits: no more headphones or ear buds; wear hearing protection when running loud machinery like paper shredders, vacuums, lawn movers, snow blowers, etc. Make sure you always have a set of ear plugs in your pocket -- but don't go overboard and become paranoid of every sound you encounter in the world thereby prompting you to wear them more than necessary. In short, don't let the tinnitus control you. Make sure you're in the drivers seat.

Again, try not to let your regrets endlessly loop through your brain over this. Things happen. If it wasn't the headphones it might have been something else that triggered the spike. That's just how life goes when you're one of the tribe.

• Like Like x 1
    3. flkb
      Amazed

flkb Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/01/2012