Sudden Hearing Loss

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Bobster59, Jul 27, 2017.

1. Bobster59

Bobster59 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustic neuroma
      hello fellow Tinnitus Talk patrons!

Been around loud noise most of my life , 62 , and have had mild T for over 20 years. I'm a musician and after gigs my T would be high but always settle down by next day. I gave up the gigging life 12 years ago to help protect my hearing. I've been teaching acoustic guitar ever since.

Last March after a lesson my hearing in my left ear dropped out (deaf) very quickly in less than a minute or two.. It lasted for 15 hours and slowly came back with awful T and H and very distorted. My right side also had the high T but no distortion.

Now I have 2 to 3 bad days (T&H 2 tones) followed by 1 or 2 decent days (just T mostly 1 tone). Decent days being somewhat less by 30 or 40 %.

I've tried to pinpoint what could have triggered it.

2 weeks prior to SHL I had a tooth filling replaced , upper molar same side as left ear. That took 45 minutes of drilling. My tooth was bite down sensitive for 3 months but that has subsided. 2 days after the sudden hearing loss I caught a cold.

I also started taking heart meds for AFIB 15 months ago.. Take your pick ! Audiologist says I have moderate hearing loss left side and mild on right side. My high tones are shot. That's the T I hear though. The tone that never leaves matches a high G note. The nasty high hiss I believe is in the 8-9K region.

Distraction is my key , staying busy. Staying away from the negative thoughts . I have no choice but to accept so I will. To me that means not being obsessed with my T even though its my constant companion. My AFIB will kill me , not T.